Fulton Schools Will Honor Employees of the Year

The Fulton Education Foundation is sponsoring the Nov. 2 luncheon, which brings together more than 900 school system employees, business partners and guests.

Alpharetta Elementary School's Pamela Haight, the Fulton County School System’s 2012-2013 Teacher of the Year, will be honored along with all of the system's top employees Friday, Nov. 2, at the district’s annual recognition luncheon. The two-hour program will be held at the Georgia World Congress Center. Donna Lowry, Kids and Schools reporter from WXIA 11Alive, will serve as the program emcee.

More than 900 employees, business partners and special guests will gather to pay tribute to each school’s and administrative building’s employees of the year. The celebration also is a time when schools formally honor those partnerships. 

Haight, a fifth-grade teacher at Alpharetta Elementary School, was first named the system’s Elementary School Teacher of the Year, she was then selected as the district winner from among two other Fulton County finalists: Barbara Bell from Ridgeview Charter School, who is the system’s Middle School Teacher of the Year, and Kimberly Cooney from Chattahoochee High School, who is the High School Teacher of the Year.

Dan Sims, principal of Tri-Cities High School, will be recognized as the district’s first-ever Principal of the Year, while James Stewart, a school technology specialist at Esther Jackson Elementary School, will be honored as the Overall School Professional of the Year, and Melissa Arnold, a bus driver with the Transportation Department, will be honored as the Overall Support Professional of the Year.

The luncheon is sponsored by the Fulton Education Foundation, a non-profit organization that provides financial and in-kind support to the Fulton County School System.

See Also

Alpharetta's Haight Named Fulton Teacher of Year

Employees of the Year

Elementary Schools

Teacher of the Year

Professional of the Year

Alpharetta ES

Pamela Haight

Sandy Sherman

Birmingham Falls

Beth Brock

Kathy Anderson

Cogburn Woods

Michael Cianciolo

Kelly Skinner

Crabapple Crossing

Lynn Kurowski

Katie Bondi


Tiffany Vorick 

Cathy Schefer

Lake Windward

Erin Spence

Diana Haddad

Manning Oaks

Adowa A. Sweet

Tina Agnew

New Prospect

Susan Bohnet

Edith Glatzer

Summit Hill

Katie Reichling

Faye Manders




Middle Schools

Teacher of the Year

Professional of the Year


Meghan Strickland

Terri Barrett

Haynes Bridge

Gail Ritchie

Diane Stephenson


Carrie Gilliland

Amanda Groover


Kent Cranor

Jackie Davis

Webb Bridge

Jaclyn Bonsecour

Willie Moss




High Schools

Teacher of the Year

Professional of the Year


Virginia Brown

Cathy Thomas


Cynthia A. Paulsen

Rosibel Arias


Stacy Johnson

Joanne Duke

N. Fulton Crossroads

Sherlynn Davis

Tracey Roddy


Support Professionals of the Year


Administrative Center

Jeff Brooks


Jo Wells Center

Carol Dye


Maintenance Department

Rick Ames


Professional Learning Center

Tammy Barton-McConnell


Meadows Operations Center

Lesa Clough


Transportation Department

Melissa Arnold



Quentin Smith




More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »