Milton Fire Departments Honors its Own with Awards Ceremony

Firefighter, Company of the Year both picked in inaugural ceremony.


The Milton Fire Rescue Department held its inaugural Fire Awards ceremony at on Jan. 28.

The entirely donor-funded event celebrated the hard work and dedication of Milton’s fire fighters throughout their first five years of service to the city.

During the awards ceremony, Battalion Chief Roth Hutcheson was named the first Firefighter of the Year. Additionally, the members of engine 42 C shift, Captain Clay Barnette, Fire Apparatus Operator Alex Fortner, firefighter Mark Slyman and firefighter Mark Haskins, were named Fire Company of the Year.

In a very emotional moment, the members of engine 42 B shift, Captain Ryan James, firefighter Erick Sprouse and firefighter Thomas Mickens, engine 43 B shift, Fire Apparatus Operator Don Patterson, Fire Apparatus Operator Joe Champion and firefighter Christopher Seay and Battalion Chief Bill Bourn were given lifesaving awards for saving Whit and Krystal Lofty’s daughter, Kinley, from drowning.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »